2 definitions found for this term.
Definitions are presented in the order source books were published (most recent first).

A governmental structure whereby the power to legislate is divided between various levels of government. In Canada, the division of powers is between the Parliament of Canada and the ten provincial legislatures.

The governmental power of a state is distributed between a central (or federal) government and several regional (provincial) governments. Individuals are subject to the laws of both authorities, and the central and regional authorities’ powers must be independent from each other and not subject to being taken away, altered, or controlled by the other level.

Scroll to Top