A minister is selected by the prime minister and appointed by the governor general to manage a particular portfolio (department) of government and advise the governor general in accordance with the principle of responsible government. All ministers must be either members of the House of Commons or the Senate. Collectively, the ministers constitute the Cabinet.

Scroll to Top